We had a little chat with Patric Chiha, director of Brothers of the Night, which will be released throughout theatres in Europe this spring…

Tell me a bit about yourself?

I’m from Vienna but live in Paris. I’m half Lebanese, half Hungarian. I think this mixture of different identities influences my films a lot. I first studied fashion before pursuing filmmaking.

What inspired Brothers of the Night?

By chance, on a night out in Vienna, I met a group of young men at a bar – it actually turned out to be a hustler’s bar. They were all dressed in leather jackets, had long hair and seemed like fascinating people.

I wanted to know who these guys were and make a film with them, but not about them. I’m not a journalist. I wanted to, instead, film faces and bodies and ‘play’ cinema with them.

How did you intend to represent the LGBT community in your film?

I feel very close to the LGBT community – I used to go to many LGBT film festivals when I was younger and I discovered many amazing films.

When I make films, I don’t make them for a person or for a community, I make them to celebrate multiple identities. In a slightly critical way, I think that some LGBT films you see today with stories involving weddings and children are quite boring – let’s be careful not to constrict the identities of the LGBT community.

 

Want to read more LGBT articles? Check out our articles Lost in Translation and a review of Patric’s film Brothers of the Night in Crossing the Marginal.

